Washington auto insurance laws

 The state of Washington has 5.9 million licenced drivers and over 80,000 miles of unrivalled natural beauty. However, drivers should be aware of the Washington car insurance laws before venturing into the Evergreen State. Drivers in Washington are required to carry minimum liability insurance, and there are severe penalties and fines if you do not comply.

Washington auto insurance laws

Washington's automobile insurance laws
Washington insurance laws are straightforward and similar to those of many other states. Drivers are expected to do the following: 

When a law enforcement officer requests proof of insurance, you must provide it.

To register a vehicle and obtain a driver's licence, you must show proof of insurance.
Maintain the minimum liability insurance requirements, also known as the 25/50/10:
Per person, $25,000 in bodily injury coverage is provided. 

Per accident, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage is provided. 

Property damage of $10,000 per accident

Washington also has a self-insurance law. This means that if you own or operate more than 26 vehicles, you can obtain a self-insurance certificate to demonstrate financial responsibility.

Washington liability insurance
The minimum liability requirements in Washington may appear to be adequate for your own coverage, but carrying only the minimum may leave you underinsured. 

For example, if you are involved in a multi-vehicle accident with multiple injuries, the $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident could be an issue. If there are four bodily injury claims and the accident is your fault, $50,000 divided among four victims may be insufficient. If your insurance does not cover the costs of medical bills, lost wages, and other related expenses, you will be financially responsible for the difference.

Washington does not require Uninsured Motorist (UM) or Underinsured Motorist (UIM), but this leaves you vulnerable to another catastrophe. Washington ranks seventh in the country in terms of uninsured motorists. If you are in an accident with someone who does not have insurance and it is their fault, you will have no way of recouping your expenses unless you go to court.

Is Washington a fault-free state?
Washington is an at-fault state, which is important to understand for insurance purposes. This means that whichever driver is found to be at fault in an accident is liable for the costs of bodily injury and property damage. If the at-fault driver does not have enough insurance (or any insurance at all) to cover the damages, the other driver has the right to sue to recover money for any damages caused by the accident.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Washington? 

Fortunately, there are numerous carriers in Washington that provide low-cost auto insurance. According to Bankrate's pricing review, USAA has the lowest rates, averaging $261 per year for minimum coverage and $849 for full coverage. This is significantly less than the state average and the national annual average of $1,738.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post