Vermont Auto insurance laws

 Vermont had a population of just under 624,000 people in 2019, according to the United States Census Bureau. Despite its small population, the Green Mountain State's traffic statistics reflect the high cost of life and limb that roadway accidents inflict.

Vermont Auto insurance laws

According to the Vermont Highway Safety Office, the following will occur in 2020:

61 people were killed in traffic accidents in 2018, an increase from 47 in 2019. 

50 people were killed in rural traffic accidents. 

Impaired driving was responsible for 44.26 percent of fatalities. 

Speeding was responsible for 21.31 percent of fatalities.
Older drivers were responsible for 24.59 percent of fatalities.
202 people were seriously injured. 

The freedom of mobility that comes with owning a car comes with responsibilities. Before you get behind the wheel, you must purchase auto insurance that meets or exceeds the legal requirement. Vermont, like the rest of the states, requires drivers to carry minimum levels of auto insurance. If you drive without insurance in Vermont, you may lose your licence and face steep fines.

Vermont auto insurance laws
According to the Vermont Department of Financial Regulation, all drivers are required to carry the following minimum liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverages:
Liability for bodily harm per person: $ 25,000
Liability for bodily injury per accident: $50,000
Liability for property damage per accident: $10,000
Per person bodily injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist: $50,000 
Bodily injury per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorists: $100,000 
Property damage caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist: $10,000 (maximum coverage available)

Drivers may choose to purchase additional coverage for greater financial security, but they must meet at least these limits.

Vermont liability insurance 

Vermont's minimum liability insurance requirements may not provide you with enough protection. For starters, liability insurance only covers other people's damages; it does not cover your own vehicle's damages or medical bills.
In addition, auto liability insurance only pays up to the limit. If you don't have enough insurance, you could face massive out-of-pocket expenses if you cause an accident. Consider this: Vermont only requires you to carry $10,000 in property damage liability, but the replacement cost of another driver's 2021 Nissan Sentra could exceed $20,000. In addition, if the other driver is injured, hospital bills may be incurred.

Financial experts usually recommend carrying a minimum of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident when purchasing bodily injury liability coverage. If you can afford it, you should also carry at least $100,000 in property damage liability coverage.
Consider purchasing a personal umbrella policy for around $200 to $300 per year, which provides liability coverage of $1 million or more. In addition to the state-mandated insurance coverages, a leasing company or lender may require you to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage for a financed or leased vehicle.

Is Vermont a fault-free state?
Some states have no-fault laws that mandate that all drivers carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. No-fault laws require drivers to file claims with their insurance companies regardless of who is found to be at fault in an accident, and they limit the circumstances under which drivers can sue for injuries and pain and suffering. 

Vermont is not a no-fault state, and drivers are not required to purchase PIP, which makes it easier for another driver to sue you if you are at fault in an accident. If you have enough coverage, your car insurance can help offset these costs.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post