South Carolina auto insurance laws

 South Carolina car insurance laws require drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance no matter where they drive in the state. On South Carolina's 78,000 miles of public road, there are 3.8 million licenced drivers. South Carolina also has the country's second-highest car crash fatality rate, emphasising the importance of South Carolina residents maintaining a comprehensive auto insurance policy.

South Carolina auto insurance laws

South Carolina auto insurance laws
South Carolina, like other states, has clear-cut laws for drivers to follow in order to maintain safe driving practises. Drivers in South Carolina are required to carry minimum liability insurance as well as uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage:

Injury to the body: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Damage to property: $25,000 per accident
Bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident 

Property damage caused by an uninsured motorist is $25,000 per accident with a $200 deductible.
Bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Property damage caused by an uninsured motorist is $25,000 per accident.
In addition to the minimum required coverages, South Carolina law requires drivers to provide proof of insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer.

South Carolina liability insurance
While these minimum requirements are typical of other states, they may not be sufficient to cover you if you are at fault in a major accident. For example, if you are found to be at fault and there are multiple cars and drivers involved in the accident, the $50,000 limit may not be enough to cover all of the medical bills, lost income, and other expenses for several people. If you do not have enough coverage, you are responsible for the difference between your insurance limits and the amount needed to cover all expenses.

Is South Carolina a fault-free state?
South Carolina is regarded as a fault state. This means that if a driver is found to be at fault, they must pay for the property damage and bodily injury costs associated with the accident. If the damage exceeds the driver's insurance limits, the other driver may sue the at-fault driver to recover any remaining expenses, such as lost wages, medical bills, and compensation for pain and suffering.

What is the most affordable car insurance company in South Carolina?
South Carolina has a plethora of low-cost auto insurance options. Bankrate investigated several options and discovered that Geico and Allstate provide the most affordable rates for South Carolinians. Geico charges an average of $357 per year for minimum coverage and $1,063 for full coverage. Your specific rate is determined by a variety of factors, including your location, credit score, vehicle, age, and other factors.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post