Oklahoma auto insurance laws

 Oklahoma has a number of car insurance laws in place to protect the state's drivers. With over 2.5 million licenced drivers on Oklahoma's roads, understanding the fundamental laws is important as drivers make financial decisions about their vehicles and auto insurance policies.

Oklahoma auto insurance laws

In 2019, Oklahoma had 584 fatal crashes, resulting in over 640 deaths, for a total of 16.2 deaths per 100,000 people. The primary goal is to keep drivers safe, but another goal is to ensure that all parties involved in an accident have some form of financial protection. Understanding how Oklahoma's major auto insurance laws affect you is one step toward making better insurance policy decisions.

Oklahoma auto insurance laws
Drivers in Oklahoma looking for auto insurance should be aware of the minimum amount of coverage required to drive legally.
Aside from mandatory insurance, there are a few other simple laws that drivers should be aware of, including:
Oklahoma auto insurance laws require a minimum amount of liability coverage.
Oklahoma is a state that uses an online insurance verification system. If you are stopped by law enforcement, the officer must use this to verify your insurance coverage. 

Drivers must keep proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. 

You will face fines and penalties if you are caught driving without insurance.

Oklahoma liability insurance
Drivers in Oklahoma are required to carry a minimum liability insurance policy of 25/50/25, which includes: 

Per person, $25,000 in bodily injury protection is provided.
$50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident 

Property damage coverage of $25,000 per accident 

In addition, Oklahoma car insurance laws require insurance companies to provide uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to all drivers. The required minimum rate is $25,000/$50,000, respectively. This coverage, however, can be rejected in writing.

However, only purchasing the bare minimum of liability insurance may place a driver in a financially vulnerable position. For example, if you are found to be the at-fault driver in a multiple-person, multiple-injury collision, your minimum liability insurance limits will most likely not be enough to cover your medical bills. If you do not have enough liability insurance, the other drivers may sue you for additional medical payments. Many financial experts advise carrying as much liability coverage as your budget allows and makes financial sense.

Adding options like comprehensive and collision insurance may raise your premiums, but they provide coverage for damage to your own vehicle. Liability insurance does not cover the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle.

Is Oklahoma a fault-free state?
Oklahoma is regarded as an at-fault state. This means that in the event of a car accident, someone must be found to be at fault. The at-fault driver's insurance company is held liable for the other driver's medical expenses and property damage. This is another reason to carry more than the bare minaimum in liability insurance to ensure adequate limits are in place.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Oklahoma?
Every driver will have a different rate for the cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma. Rates are determined by a number of factors, including each driver's zip code, credit score, vehicle, and driving history. However, after analysing data from Quadrant Information Services, Bankrate discovered that Geico, USAA, Farmers Insurance, State Farm, and Mercury provided the best rates within the review's parameters.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post