Nevada auto insurance laws

 Drivers in Nevada are required to have a minimum amount of liability insurance in order to drive legally. The legal minimum in Nevada is 25/50/20, but it is possible (and often desirable) to purchase more than the minimum in order to have the best car insurance in Nevada.

Nevada auto insurance laws

You must also carry proof of insurance with you at all times while driving. Your insurance card, which you receive when you purchase a policy, or electronic proof on your cell phone can serve as proof of that insurance. If you are stopped by a police officer, they will almost certainly ask to see your proof of insurance.

Nevada auto insurance laws
Nevada car insurance laws are similar to those of many other states. They cover liability insurance, which pays for damages and injuries to the other driver, their passengers, and their vehicle in the event of an at-fault accident. Legally, you must have at least the following liability coverage, commonly written as 25/50/20:

Bodily injury (BI) liability of $25,000: If you cause an accident, your insurer will pay up to $25,000 for a single person's injuries.
$50,000 total: If more than one person is injured, your insurer will cover all injuries up to $50,000.
Property damage liability (PD) of $20,000: This type of liability will cover damage to the other driver's car as well as any other property damage, such as if you hit a fence or light post.
For car insurance, Nevada is not the cheapest state. The state's minimum coverage average is $709, which is higher than the national average of $563. Full coverage, including collision and comprehensive, costs $2,058, compared to the national average of $1,738.

Nevada liability insurance
Nevada minimum car insurance is solely concerned with liability — in other words, if you cause an accident, Nevada's insurance laws protect the other driver and their passengers. You may want to consider additional coverage to protect yourself financially. 

If you are able, it is also a good idea to purchase more than the minimum requirement. Consider the consequences of running a red light and causing an accident that injures several people and totals the other driver's car.

Medical care in Nevada is not cheap, especially if surgery or rehabilitation is required. In that case, the $25,000 minimum BI coverage would expire quickly, leaving you with significant out-of-pocket expenses. 

Property damage coverage of $20,000 is also relatively low. If you total a newer SUV, truck, or luxury sedan, it is likely that it is worth more than $20,000. If that is the limit of your coverage, you will be personally liable for any amount in excess of that.

Is Nevada a fault-free state?
Nevada is not one of the 12 states that have no-fault insurance. In a no-fault state, you file your own insurance claims regardless of who is at fault in an accident. No-fault laws also restrict the types of lawsuits that can be filed against any driver after an accident. 

In a no-fault state, you must have personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, which covers you and your passengers for injuries sustained in an accident. This coverage is not available in Nevada because it is not a no-fault state. You can, however, purchase similar medical payments (medpay) coverage.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Nevada?
There is no single insurer whose rates are always the lowest. Your premium is determined by a number of factors, including the age and model of your car, your credit score, and even your marital status — and your price quote will be tailored to your specific situation. Our Cheap Car Insurance Companies of 2021 listing is a good place to start your search.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post