Maryland Auto insurance laws

 Maryland car insurance laws, like those in most other states, require drivers to have minimum coverage car insurance. Driving without insurance is illegal in Maryland and can result in serious consequences. Before driving in Maryland, save yourself the trouble of getting into legal trouble by first learning the insurance laws. This will not only help you avoid legal problems, but it will also help you ensure that you have the best coverage available to meet your needs.

Maryland Auto insurance laws

Some traffic statistics have been compiled below based on reports from the Maryland Department of Transportation. These accident reports are accompanied by statistics from the Insurance Information Institute (iii) on the percentage of uninsured drivers in Maryland. These figures can help explain Maryland auto insurance requirements and demonstrate how auto insurance can provide drivers with financial protection. 

In 2019, there were 115,926 total car accidents in Maryland. 

There were 32,919 incidents that resulted in bodily harm out of the total of 115,926. 

And 82,511 resulted in property damage.
In Maryland, approximately 14% of drivers were uninsured in 2019.

Maryland auto insurance laws 

All drivers in Maryland are required by law to have basic liability coverage, also known as minimum coverage insurance. This requirement has two coverage components: bodily injury liability and property damage liability. These coverages are intended to pay for the expenses of others who are harmed or killed as a result of an auto accident in which you are at fault. Basic liability will not compensate you for your own injuries or damages. 

Bodily injury: $30,000 per person, with a maximum of $60,000 per accident

Damage to property: $15,000 per accident

Maryland liability insurance
All drivers in Maryland are required by law to have minimum liability coverage. Maryland's minimum car insurance policy includes bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage. However, it may not always be sufficient. Auto accidents can result in costs that exceed the required coverage limits, forcing drivers to pay the difference out of pocket. To help prevent this, some drivers choose to increase their coverage limits.

Another issue with basic liability coverage is that it is intended to pay for the expenses of another person. Assume, for example, that you are at fault in an accident. In that case, your minimum coverage will cover the expenses of the other driver (and their passengers), but not your own. The purpose of basic liability is to protect those who are not at fault.

Some drivers choose to supplement their auto insurance with collision, comprehensive, or medical coverage policies. These policies protect you and your vehicle in the event of an accident, even if you are at fault. Collision insurance, in particular, assists with the cost of damages that occur to the car while it is being driven. Comprehensive insurance covers the costs of damages sustained by the vehicle while it is not being driven. In addition to minimum coverage plans, many of Bankrate's top car insurance companies offer these policies.

Is Maryland a fault-free state? 

Maryland is a torte state, also known as an at-fault state. This means that drivers are legally liable for the damages caused by their vehicles if they are found to be "at fault" for the accident. In general, if an auto accident occurs in an at-fault state, at least one driver will be found to be at fault. When you are at fault, your basic liability coverage will pay for the other driver's or injured parties' expenses. Meeting this financial obligation is one of the reasons that Maryland requires auto insurance for all drivers.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post