Kansas Auto insurance laws

 If you own a registered vehicle in Kansas, you must have car insurance. The primary goal of auto insurance is to protect your legal and financial obligations in the event of an at-fault collision. Here are some facts about accidents in Kansas:

Kansas Auto insurance laws

In Kansas, there were 64,682 traffic accidents in 2019.
In 2019, there were 2,150 alcohol-related crashes. 

The majority of accidents in Kansas are caused by inattention on the part of the driver.
Every state has different car insurance laws, so it is critical to understand the laws in your state. Kansas car insurance laws are fairly straightforward, but if you are caught driving without proper insurance coverage, you could face a number of serious penalties.

Kansas auto insurance laws 

In order to drive legally in Kansas, drivers must have a certain amount of car insurance. You can, however, purchase additional coverage if necessary. The Kansas minimum car insurance requirement is 25/50/25, which includes personal liability as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. The following are the coverage limits: 

Per person, $25,000 in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM coverage is provided. 

Per accident, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage/UM/UIM coverage is provided.
Property damage liability coverage of $25,000 per accident

Kansas liability insurance
One of the Kansas auto insurance requirements is liability insurance. If you cause an accident, bodily injury liability insurance covers the other driver's medical expenses, and property damage liability insurance covers vehicle repairs. If you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages in full, UM/UIM coverage will pay for your losses.

Although liability insurance is required in Kansas, drivers should consider increasing their coverage limits or purchasing additional policies to ensure they are adequately protected. There is no guarantee that a minimum coverage policy will cover the full cost of an accident, leaving you financially liable for a portion of the losses.
Furthermore, liability insurance will not cover your vehicle after an accident. Most insurance companies recommend that most drivers purchase collision and comprehensive insurance, which helps cover the cost of repairing your car after an accident. Car theft is specifically covered by comprehensive insurance.

Is Kansas a fault-free state?
Kansas is regarded as a no-fault state. That is, after an accident, regardless of who caused the collision, each driver's insurance company will pay for their own medical expenses. In a fault state, the at-fault driver's insurance company is responsible for reimbursing the other driver for medical expenses and other related costs, such as lost wages.
Personal injury protection (PIP) is required by Kansas insurance laws in order to satisfy the state's no-fault provision. In Kansas, the minimum PIP coverage amounts are as follows:

$4,500 for medical expenses per person 

$900 per month for income loss (maximum of one year)
In-home healthcare services cost $25 per day (maximum of one year)
$2,000 to cover funeral or burial costs
Rehabilitation services cost $4,500.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Kansas?
Kansas has a plethora of low-cost auto insurance providers. We recommend USAA, Farmers, and American Family as some of the most affordable providers. Keep in mind, however, that the cheapest car insurance company varies depending on personal factors.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post