Connecticut Auto insurance laws

 Connecticut auto insurance requirements, like those in most states, are set by the state government and must be met in order to drive legally. If you are at fault in an accident, Connecticut requires liability coverage to pay for both property damage and injuries. It also requires you to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in the event that the other driver does not have insurance or has insufficient insurance to cover your expenses.

Connecticut Auto insurance laws

Connecticut's minimum auto insurance coverage is 25/50/25, with an additional 25/50 for underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. However, just because these are your required minimums does not mean that purchasing this amount of insurance will adequately cover you in the event of a serious accident. 

You should purchase as much insurance as you can afford to ensure that you have the most comprehensive coverage possible. This will cost more, but it may be worthwhile in the long run. In Connecticut, the average cost of minimum coverage is $672, while full coverage costs $1,605.

Connecticut auto insurance laws
Here is a breakdown of what your auto insurance policy must include in order for you to legally drive: 

bodily injury coverage of $25,000 per accident, per person 

$50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, up to a total of $50,000. (if more than one person is injured) 

Property damage totaling $25,000
Uninsured or underinsured drivers face a $25,000 fine per accident, per person.
Uninsured or underinsured drivers face a total fine of $50,000 per accident.

To put it another way, if you have the minimum legal coverage and are in an accident that is your fault, your insurance will cover the medical costs or lost wages of the other driver or a passenger up to $25,000 if they are injured. If more than one person is injured, your insurance will cover up to $50,000 in total. 

You are also covered for up to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident if the other driver is driving illegally or without enough insurance to cover your costs.

Connecticut liability insurance
Connecticut insurance laws place a premium on liability insurance. In the case of insurance, liability means you are responsible for something, such as medical and other costs associated with injuries and property damage. 

But is the bare minimum sufficient? Insurance experts generally agree that you should buy as much insurance as possible. Consider an accident in which the other driver sustains internal injuries that necessitate surgery. Medical costs in the United States are high, and your minimum $25,000 could be depleted in a matter of days.

Consider the ramifications of hitting a high-end car, such as a BMW or Tesla, which is worth far more than the minimum requirement of $25,000. If you hit a $40,000 SUV and totaled it, your insurance would only cover $25,000, leaving you to pay the remaining $15,000 out of pocket.
It's a good idea to weigh your risk tolerance and ability to pay premiums against the minimum requirements and purchase additional liability, such as 100/300/100. It may cost you more now, but it could save your life if you are involved in a serious accident.

Is Connecticut a fault-free state?
Connecticut was a no-fault state until 1994, when the state government repealed the requirement. Personal injury protection, or PIP, coverage is required in a no-fault state. 

Because Connecticut does not require PIP insurance, you do not need it, and you retain the right to sue if you are injured in an accident.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Connecticut?
When looking for car insurance, it is a good idea to shop around and collect several quotes to see which insurer offers the best prices for the most comprehensive coverage. Check out our list of the Cheapest Car Insurance in Connecticut to see who is currently offering the lowest rates.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post