Arkansas auto insurance laws

 Car insurance in Arkansas, like in most other states, is a legal requirement if you own a registered vehicle. It makes no difference how frequently you drive, what type of car you drive, or how old your vehicle is. Driving without insurance carries serious consequences, such as fines and licence suspension. 

Arkansas auto insurance laws

If you cause an accident, car insurance protects your legal and financial responsibilities. Arkansas car insurance laws differ from those of other states, so it is critical to understand the specific requirements you must meet. 

Here are some statistics about Arkansas drivers and accidents: 

There were 2,622 traffic fatalities in the state between 2014 and 2018. 

141 people died in alcohol-related crashes during the same time period. 

More than 19% of Arkansas drivers do not have auto insurance.

Arkansas auto insurance laws
In order to legally operate a vehicle in Arkansas, every driver must have a minimum amount of car insurance. Arkansas's minimum auto insurance is 25/50/25, which includes personal liability insurance. The following are the coverage limits that come with a minimum coverage insurance policy: 

Per person, $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage is provided.
Per accident, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage is provided. 

Property damage liability coverage of $25,000 per accident

Car insurance companies in Arkansas must also provide uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, which can be declined by the policyholder. 

If you cause an accident, bodily injury liability coverage will pay for the other driver's medical expenses, while property damage liability coverage will pay for the other driver's car repairs if damage occurs. It is important to note that in Arkansas, a minimum coverage policy does not provide any protection for your own vehicle. 

Arkansas also requires your insurance company to offer you personal injury protection insurance (PIP) and requires you to reject the offer in writing if you do not want to carry it.

Arkansas liability insurance
Arkansas auto insurance requirements include liability insurance, which can be found in a policy with the bare minimum of coverage. A minimum coverage policy in Arkansas, on the other hand, may not be sufficient to cover an at-fault accident. 

If you hit another driver and your car insurance policy does not cover the full extent of the damage, you will have to pay the difference out of pocket. Furthermore, liability-only coverage provides no protection for your own vehicle. As a result, insurance companies advise most drivers to increase their coverage limits or switch to a full coverage policy that includes collision and comprehensive coverage.

Is Arkansas a fault-free state?
Arkansas does not have a no-fault system. A driver's insurance company will automatically cover their medical expenses after an accident in a no-fault state, regardless of who was at fault. In a fault state, such as Arkansas, the at-fault driver's insurance pays for the hospital bills of the other driver.

What is the most affordable car insurance in Arkansas?
The cheapest car insurance companies in Arkansas, according to sample rate quotes, are USAA, Southern Farm Bureau, Farmers, State Farm, and Geico. You may also be able to reduce your car insurance premium by utilising discounts, bundling your policies, paying your annual premium in full, and improving your credit score.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post